USN

USN Blue Lab Whey

Blue Lab is the only product in this batch with a digestive enzyme built in: Tolerase L, a pH-stable lactase aimed at the lactose in the concentrate portion.

  • Tested for sport
70g
Protein / 100g
24g
Per 34g scoop
£1.05
Per 25g protein
£58.88
2.00kg pack

How the numbers stack up against the price

£1.05 buys 25g of protein here, which makes it the 8th cheapest of the 24 powders we have reviewed, behind Protein Works Whey Protein 360 - PLATINUM Innovation at £1.03, and 5p under the median.

It is also Informed Choice certified, and isolate leads the blend. The two things to weigh against that are the salt, at 1.4g per 100g the highest here, and saturated fat at 3.7g per 100g, which is roughly double most of its competition.

Cost per 25g of protein, across our 24 reviews

Median £1.10

  • Protein Works Whey Protein 360 - GOLD Innovation
    59p
  • NXT Nutrition Beef Protein Isolate
    74p
  • Applied Nutrition Critical Whey
    92p
  • Bulk Pure Whey Protein
    97p
  • MyProtein Impact Whey Protein
    £1.01
  • PER4M Nutrition Whey Protein
    £1.03
  • Protein Works Whey Protein 360 - PLATINUM Innovation
    £1.03
  • USN Blue Lab Whey
    £1.05
  • PhD Nutrition Diet Whey
    £1.10
  • Scitec Nutrition 100% Whey Protein Professional
    £1.11
  • PER4M Nutrition Isolate Zero
    £1.15
  • Warrior Whey
    £1.16
  • MyProtein Impact Diet Whey
    £1.21
  • MyProtein Impact Whey Isolate
    £1.23
  • Applied Nutrition ISO XP
    £1.23
  • Bulk Pure Whey Isolate
    £1.30
  • Bulk Clear Whey Isolate
    £1.48

Cheapest in-stock listing at a partner retailer, for packs of 400g and over. MyProtein Clear Whey Protein, Protein Works Vegan Protein 360 - GOLD Innovation, Protein Works Vegan Protein 360 - PLATINUM Innovation, Protein Works Vegan Pea Protein - BLACK Innovation, Protein Works 100% Micellar Casein - BLACK Innovation, Protein Works Diet Whey Protein Isolate - BLACK Innovation, Protein Works Clear Diet Whey Protein - GOLD Innovation have no partner listing in stock, so they carry no figure.

Isolate is listed first, then hydrolysate, then concentrate, which is an unusually strong ordering for this price. USN does not publish the ratio. The formula also carries inulin, which is where the 7.4g of fibre per 100g comes from, and Tolerase L, a pH-stable lactase enzyme.

What the label gets right, and wrong

Strengths

  • Isolate is first on the ingredient list, ahead of hydrolysate and concentrate
  • Added Tolerase L lactase enzyme, the only product in this batch with one
  • Informed Choice certified, which is a real third-party programme
  • Inulin gives it 7.4g of fibre per 100g, unusual in a whey product

Watch-outs

  • Salt at 1.4g per 100g is the highest in this batch
  • Saturated fat at 3.7g per 100g is roughly double most competitors
  • Informed Choice is per production run, not per batch like Informed Sport
  • The allergen statement warns of soy traces even though the ingredient list specifies sunflower lecithin

Where to buy it

Ordered by cost per 25g of protein, because pack sizes and protein densities differ enough that a headline price on its own does not tell you which is better value.

Retailers stocking USN Blue Lab Whey, ordered by cost per 25g of protein
RetailerSizePricePer 25gGo to retailer
Amazon UK2000g£58.88£1.05View deal ↗

One partner retailer stocks a 400g or larger pack of this product.

Price history

Low £30.59 · High £36.0012 Jul to 4 Oct

What a scoop actually contains

Taken from the manufacturer’s published label. Source.

USN states 24g of protein in a 34g scoop, which resolves to about 70.6g per 100g and matches the per-100g panel reproduced by UK retailers. One retailer still shows a 26g figure, which appears to be a superseded formula. We use USN’s own number.

Nutrition per 100g and per serving
NutrientPer 100gPer 34g
Protein70g23.8g
Energy370 kcal126 kcal
Carbohydrate6.1g2.1g
of which sugars4.6g1.6g
Fat5.5g1.9g
of which saturates3.7g1.3g
Fibre7.4g2.5g
Salt1.4g0.5g

Ingredients and formulation

Protein sources, in label order

  1. 01Whey protein isolate
  2. 02Whey protein hydrolysate
  3. 03Whey protein concentrate

Sweeteners and emulsifier

Sucralose

Sunflower lecithin

The allergen statement nonetheless warns of possible traces of soya protein from soy lecithin, which contradicts the ingredient list. Do not treat this product as soy free.

Pack sizes

476g · 510g · 908g · 2kg

Eleven flavours on the UK site.

Third-party testing

Certification is per programme and often per flavour or per batch, so a badge on one product does not carry across a brand’s whole range.

Informed ChoiceConfirmed

Informed Choice tests a sample per production run. That is a weaker guarantee than Informed Sport, which tests every batch. We found no Informed Sport listing for this product.

Source

Made by

USN (Ultimate Sports Nutrition), founded 1999 in Pretoria, South AfricaUSN manufactures on three continents and does not disclose which site produces the UK stock.

Taste and what buyers report

Quoted and linked, so you can read the full thread.

“USN or Gold Standard are the two I have found to be best.”
r/AskUK

What the maker does not publish

  • USN does not disclose the country of manufacture for the UK stock.
  • USN publishes its per-flavour nutrition as images we could not read, so the per-100g panel here comes from a retailer reproduction rather than USN directly.
  • Buyer reports do not converge on a best or worst flavour for this product.

Questions buyers ask

The things people search for about USN Blue Lab Whey, answered from the label and the live partner prices rather than from the brand’s own copy.

How much protein is in USN Blue Lab Whey?

24g of protein in a 34g scoop, about 70g per 100g. One UK retailer still lists 26g, which appears to be an older formula.

Is USN Blue Lab Whey good for lactose intolerance?

It contains Tolerase L, a pH-stable lactase enzyme intended to help break down lactose, and isolate leads the blend, which is naturally lower in lactose than concentrate. That is a better starting point than most whey blends, but it is not a lactose-free product.

Is USN Blue Lab Whey Informed Sport certified?

It is Informed Choice certified, not Informed Sport. Informed Choice tests a sample per production run; Informed Sport tests every batch. If you compete in a tested federation, that distinction matters.

Reviewed next to

Not sure this is the one?

Answer five questions and the Protein Finder narrows the whole range down to what fits your goal, budget and diet.

Open the Protein Finder

Last updated 19 August 2026